Administrative divisions

The government bureaucracy is composed of traditional ministries, special agencies, and parastatal companies. The Ministry of Interior spearheads a system of regional governors and prefects modeled on the French system of local administration. Under this system, Mauritania is divided into 15 regions (wilaya or régions).

Control is tightly concentrated in the executive branch of the central government, but a series of national and municipal elections since 1992 have produced limited decentralization. These regions are subdivided into 44 departments (moughataa). The regions and capital district (in alphabetical order) and their capitals are:

Region                                                  Capital #

Adrar                                                       Atar      1

Assaba                                               Kiffa 2

Brakna                                     Aleg   3

Dakhlet Nouadhibou        Nouadhibou      4

Gorgol                                                    Kaédi     5

Guidimaka                            Selibaby        6

Hodh Ech Chargui                        Néma    7

Hodh El Gharbi                 Ayoun el Atro   8

Inchiri                                                Akjoujt       9

Nouakchott-Nord          Dar-Naim   10

Nouakchott-Ouest         Tevragh-Zeina      10

Nouakchott-Sud          Arafat   10

Tagant                                     Tidjikdja     11

Tiris Zemmour              Zouerat       12

Trarza                                         Rosso      13