Burundi’s currency is the Burundian franc (ISO 4217 code BIF). It is nominally subdivided into 100 centimes, though coins have never been issued in centimes in independent Burundi, centime coins were circulated only when Burundi used the Belgian Congo franc.

Monetary Policy is controlled by the central bank, Bank of the Republic of Burundi.